Thursday, August 2, 2012

Doctor Who - Series 7 Trailer

Looks smashing. There's no confirmation date as of yet, but it will be this Fall (sometime October perhaps?).

There is mention of a 50th Anniversary, which it is sad given 3 of the companions from the past have died in the last few months with Mary Tamm, one of the Romana's passing just last week.

Friday, June 29, 2012

Gotye's Somebody That I Used to Know (Star Wars Parody)

535,000 hits in 2 DAYS?, LOL

This is worth sharing (as I am), and it does have some Weird Al-ishness to it in a Star Wars-Fan/SciFi-nerd/DVD-nerd kind of way. But that number of hits in 2 days? Rather pathetic. It doesn't take much (despite how much time/money/resources etc this required to make) to get attention.

Also, they should have got Chad Vader to appear.

Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Division I NCAA Football Goes to 4-Team Playoff

This is BABY STEPS. Of course the guy interviewed mentions how it "preserves the regular season" which is just a big load of hogwash. How is expanding to a playoff not "preserving" the regular season? Ask the folks involved with Division NCAA Basketball if their regular season is "preserved"? How about Division I-AA, Divison II, NAIA and the countless other examples.

Baby freaking steps, because until it gets expanded to at least 16 teams, the idea of getting the TEAMS PLAYING THE BEST AT THE END OF THE SEASON, i.e. the best teams at the time of the post-season, this is still limited. But, it is something, and it will get me to start paying attention a bit more.

But only a 4-team playoff until 2025? we'll see.

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

My Minds Own Melody (2012)

Go Here.

Sounds and looks potentially amazing, but why the Embed Code is Disabled is pretty baffling.

This is what Daniel Johns is doing now that Silverchair is on indefinite hibernation.

Since this is both based around music and film, it probably needs an entry on each blog.

Silverchair Facebook

Watch 'My Mind's Own Melody' trailer with original music by Daniel Johns

'My Mind's Own Melody' is a cinematic modern musical created by Josh Wakely and Daniel Johns. A full feature film has been developed based on the concept but this trailer is for a short-film version. Keep an eye out for news of limited international screenings over the months ahead.

A film by Josh Wakely, original music and lyrics by Daniel Johns (Silverchair), featuring the talents of Golden Globe winner Lisa Gerrard, starring David Lyons, 'My Mind's Own Melody' is a Grace films Production.


Monday, May 14, 2012

2012-2013 American TV Lineups: NBC

Even though more or less the best shows are on the Cable networks anyway, it's still worth scanning what is on the networks every fall, with the hope something good will come on, even if it gets canceled soon after :p

Looks like Parenthood is back. Just reading about some of the new shows, I’m doubtful about a lot of them being good, although it may be worth checking out some of the trailers for them anyway. “Revolution” is a JJ Abrams show about people who live without electricity. “Save Me” has Anne Heche, who survives a choking accident and thinks she has a direct line to God.” Animal Practice” has Justin Kirk from Weeds. “1600 Penn” is a comedy about the President and his family.

The “Hannibal” show, that Bryan Fuller is making isn’t coming until midseason I guess given there’s not even a full cast yet.

1 link

The fall NBC schedule:
8-10 p.m. – “The Voice”
10-11 p.m. – “REVOLUTION”
8-9 p.m. –“The Voice”
9-9:30 p.m. – “GO ON”
9:30-10 p.m. – “THE NEW NORMAL”
10-11 p.m. – “Parenthood”
8-8:30 p.m. – “ANIMAL PRACTICE”
8:30-9 p.m. – “GUYS WITH KIDS”
9-10 p.m. – “Law & Order: Special Victims Unit”
10-11 p.m. – “CHICAGO FIRE”
8-8:30 p.m. – “30 Rock”
8:30-9 p.m. – “Up All Night”
9-9:30 p.m. – “The Office”
9:30-10 p.m. – “Parks and Recreation”
10-11 p.m. – “Rock Center with Brian Williams”
8-8:30 p.m. – “Whitney”
8:30-9 p.m. – “Community”
9-10 p.m. – “Grimm”
10-11 p.m. – “Dateline NBC”
Encore programming
SUNDAY (Fall 2012)
7- 8:15 p.m. — “Football Night in America”
8:15-11:30 p.m. — “NBC Sunday Night Football”
SUNDAY (Post-football/Winter 2013)
7-8 p.m. – “Dateline NBC”
8-9 p.m. – “Fashion Star”
9-10 p.m. – “The Celebrity Apprentice”
10-11 p.m. – “DO NO HARM”

Wednesday, April 25, 2012

Mockingbird Lane (Munsters Reboot, Bryan Fuller)

The title of the upcoming The Munsters reboot from Bryan Fuller (Pushing Daisies, Wonderfalls, Heroes, Dead Like Me) will be  "Mockingbird Lane"

from Wikipedia

Mockingbird Lane
Another remake, from Pushing Daisies creator Bryan Fuller, is in development for NBC. A reboot of The Munsters, it is intended to be written and executive produced by Fuller as a one-hour drama with "spectacular visuals". It is to explore the origins of the Munster family and to be darker and edgier, while retaining plenty of humor.[8][9][10] NBC confirmed ordering the pilot episode in November 2011,[11] and announced in January 2012 that it would be called Mockingbird Lane, a reference to the Munster family address at 1313 Mockingbird Lane.[12]
It was also reported the costumes and make-up for the characters will be heavily toned down to resemble humans.
NBC has recently taken the pilot for Mockingbird Lane out of the Fall 2012 schedule, reportedly to give it more attention, so production will begin in the summer, indicating that the pilot will air in 2013.[13] On March 20, 2012, former The Riches star Eddie Izzard was announced by NBC as "Grandpa", the first of the prospective series' main roles to be cast.[14][15] More recently, British actress Charity Wakefield has joined the cast, playing Marilyn Munster, Lily's niece.

Also in this interview some more stuff about being like an American Harry Potter and plans he has to also be involved with a new tv series based on Hannibal Lecter:

You’re also adapting another remake, NBC’s upcoming series take on the Hannibal Lecter films.
I’m personally, as an audience member, not afraid of remakes. I’m afraid of bad remakes, which is unfortunately more commonly the case. Which is why I think people get up in arms when they see a remake idea — “Oh, they’re remaking something that’s been done before, what hackery, there’s no original thoughts in Hollywood.” But there’s a great quote that no art exists without the art before it. We’re doing our work to make our versions distinct and respect their source material. One of the things we did so well in the first season of Heroes is we delivered on each of those [superhero] metaphors. When you come to The Munsters and have Herman — who’s essentially a zombie in a constant state of decay — and he’s married to a woman who doesn’t age, there’s something very poignant there. These stories will surprise audiences.

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

God Bless America (2012)

This movie is available ON DEMAND and also happens to be showing with Director Bobcat Goldthwait, tomorrow evening at the Twin Cities International Film Festival.

I'm a little on the fence about going (and paying $11 for it), but with Bobcat Goldthwait there, that may influence my decision.

Regardless, I definitely want to see it. A movie that goes after anything involving Reality TV, I am curious about.

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Doctor Who Season 7 Trailer

in looking at the BBC America Doctor Who site there's more videos and news, including a new companion played by an actress named Jenna Louise-Coleman. Here's more about her including video clips.

Apparently, the season won't be premiering until the Fall of 2012, unlike most years.

Sunday, April 8, 2012

Breaking Bad Season 5: SPLIT into 2 half-seasons


Emmy-winning series star Bryan Cranston says AMC will break the award-winning drama’s final 16-episode season into two separate runs, as has been speculated for months. “We’re splitting it,” says Cranston, who’s currently shooting the fifth season premiere in New Mexico. “We’re going to shoot the first eight, then take a four-month production break, then the rest will air next year.”
The network has not announced a premiere date for Breaking Bad, though actors on the show say the drama will return in July.

Saturday, February 25, 2012

2012 Independent Spirit Awards

They're happening in a short while, but IFC ain't airing them until tonight for some sad, fucked up reason, as I and I'm sure many others would prefer to watch them LIVE in REAL TIME, but whatevah.

Seth Rogen is hosting

I guess I'll hold off until later, for posting predictions, etc. 2011 was a year I saw some, but probably not
quite as many movies as I'd like to have. But at least what does happen is in seeing these, and even some of the other awards shows, I end up making a decent "To Watch" list. With movies that do well at Sundance Film Festival, I try and do that as well. And there's already a couple of titles on this list I have "Watch Listed" on imdb.

1 being titled Without about a girl whose living on an Island? and does physical therapy among other things for an older man. The trailer paints a dark, mysterious tone which has me intrigued.

Another being Gun Hill Road, which has Esai Morales who I last saw on Caprica, but also features a young actress named Harmony Santana that plays what appears to be young man facing an uneasy family life, namely due to her sexual identity concerns.

Also a John C Reilly movie titled Terri and a couple of others on this list have me curious. I am hoping to find another movie like Easier with Practice.

The titles I did see, Beginners, The Descendants, Win/Win, Another Earth, Midnight in Paris all were okay. I suppose I'll be rooting for Another Earth given how little mainstream attention it has received. I never did see Margin Call, and meant to. So if it wins, I'll have more motivation to seek it out now. Although, perhaps a few of these will find their way into some larger theaters. Doubtful, but it has happened before.

And of course there's stuff, even this past, watered-down year, that are not here. Namely the interesting and funny documentary Page One; Inside the NY Times,

and others like
-Tambien la Lluvia [Even the Rain] (Gael Garcia-Bernal),
-Happythankyoumoreplease (Josh Radnor)  
-Everything Must Go (Will Ferrell).

that I have on my 2011 Cinema List on

Here's the nominees

Best Film (Best Feature)
The Artist
The Descendants
Take Shelter

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Mike Mills – Beginners
Jeff Nichols – Take Shelter
Alexander Payne – The Descendants
Nicolas Winding Refn – Drive

Best First Feature
Another Earth
In The Family
Margin Call
Martha Marcy May Marlene
Natural Selection

John Cassavetes Award
Hello Lonesome
The Dynamiter

Best Screenplay
Mike Mills – Beginners
Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon & Jim Rash – The Descendants
Joseph Cedar – Footnote
Michel Hazanavicius – The Artist
Tom McCarthy – Win Win

Best First Screenplay
Mike Cahill & Brit Marling – Another Earth
Patrick deWitt – Terri
Phil Johnston – Cedar Rapids
Will Reiser – 50/50
J.C. Chandor – Margin Call

Best Female Lead
Lauren Ambrose – Think of Me
Rachael Harris – Natural Selection
Adepero Oduye – Pariah
Elizabeth Olsen – Martha Marcy May Marlene
Michelle Williams – My Week with Marilyn

Best Male Lead
Demián Bichir – A Better Life
Jean Dujardin – The Artist
Ryan Gosling – Drive
Woody Harrelson – Rampart
Michael Shannon – Take Shelter

Best Supporting Female
Jessica Chastain – Take Shelter
Anjelica Huston – 50/50
Janet McTeer – Albert Nobbs
Harmony Santana – Gun Hill Road
Shailene Woodley – The Descendants

Best Supporting Male
Albert Brooks – Drive
John Hawkes – Martha Marcy May Marlene
Christopher Plummer – Beginners
John C. Reilly – Cedar Rapids
Corey Stoll – Midnight in Paris

Best Cinematography
The Artist
The Dynamiter
Midnight in Paris
The Off Hours

Best Documentary
An African Election
Bill Cunningham New York
The Interrupters
The Redemption of General Butt Naked
We Were Here

Best Foreign Film
The Kid with a Bike (Belgium)
Melancholia (Denmark)
A Separation (Iran)
Shame (United Kingdom)
Tyrannosaur (United Kingdom)

Robert Altman Award
Margin Call

Piaget Producers Award
Chad Burris – Mosquito y Mari
Sophia Lynn – Take Shelter
Josh Bond – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Someone to Watch Award
Simon Arthur – Silver Tongues
Mark Jackson – Without
Nicholas Ozeki – Mamitas

Truer Than Fiction Award
Where Soldiers Come From
Hell and Back Again
Bombay Beach

 more info here:

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Psych - Season 6.5 LEAP DAY Premiere (SUPER SIZED)

So, that video explains it more or less. They're going to add 7 minutes extra to the 1/2-season premiere I guess. Here's another trailer of sorts


 Plus some kind of preview facebook announcement

Be a part of the first-ever preview event of the Psych premiere exclusively available via Video On Demand (VOD) starting Wednesday, February 22. Watch it before the SUPERSIZED Premiere on Wednesday, February 29. Check your local cable provider and enjoy the early delicious flavor.

 And as I just replied there:

I'm rather confused how to actually FIND THIS. I have ON DEMAND via my Cable (Comcast) but today, Wednesday February 22nd, I don't see ANY free preview for season 6.5 in the "Psych" portion of the ON DEMAND. They only have episodes to watch from Season 6.0.

 but there's a little more noted here about the premiere. their official homepage urll is getting a makeover with "a series of customizable, sharable and insanely silly “Moving Album Covers” featuring Shawn and Gus channeling classic ’80s music archetypes." that does sound intriguing.

Although I still hope they consider trying to do a Psych-Out of the Phillip Bailey/Phil Collins 80's Hit "Easy Lover." It's just rather OBVIOUS as a song to have James Roday and Dule Hill try and sing in a Psych-Out or a promo.

C'mon, Shawn has a girlfriend now in Juliet, and the Black+White vocal dynamic really fits the mold and vibe of their other music renditions. But like many of mine and my Psychic Crapfest co-hosts ideas for Psych (and other shows), these opportunities often get brought up and ignored, thus become great, missed opportunities


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Frank or Francis (2013)


Charlie Kaufman's post


Charlie Kaufman has already lined up an impressive cast of actors for his wild new movie Frank or Francis — Steve Carell, Jack Black, Nicolas Cage, and Kevin Kline have long been attached to the project — and now he's added two name actresses, both of whom did some of their career-best work with a Kaufman script. Vulture hears that Kate Winslet and Catherine Keener have come aboard Frank or Francis; the former was nominated for an Oscar for the Kaufman-penned Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, while the latter got her first Oscar nod thanks to Kaufman's script for Being John Malkovich.

Both of those screenplays were directed by other people, but Kaufman will be helming his own work for Frank or Francis, a very meta musical comedy about a director (Carell) who becomes obsessed with the message board commenter (Black) disparaging his movies on a Hollywood website. And though Kaufman's script is positively scathing when it comes to the Academy Awards (Cage plays a washed-up actor who serves as the emcee of the event), we should note that with the new additions to his cast, he's now got an ensemble that includes three Oscar winners and can boast a bounty of eleven total nominations. Not bad!

Being a fan of Kate Winslet, Catherine Keener, Nicholas Cage and Charlie Kaufman (Steve Carell, Kevin Kline and Jack Black too), I guess by default, I'm going to be pretty excited about this. I imagine some others will as well.

Unless the *musical* element to this, ruins it. For some reason, I wonder if even Charlie Kaufman could ruin something with that factor. Or maybe it could be OVER-cast? But my belief/faith in Kaufman still holds my optimism about this movie right now.

RIP Amici Pizza in Northeast Minneapolis.

So sad to see you guys close! I JUST DISCOVERED how good the food was at your restaurant. Delicious House Salads (especially the lettucs), great Thin Crust Pizza. Even my gf loved your Gelato Ice Cream. As much as I only knew about your restaurant for a couple of months, I know I'll miss it. Maybe you guys will reopen someday.

Thank you to our friends and fans! We gave it a good couple of years... Time for the next chapter. The support of those who wanted us to succeed is truly appreciated!!!

Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Sundance Film Festival 2012: Something From Nothing: The Art of Rap

This looks interesting, a documentary by Ice-T about the history of Rap. He interviewed Nas among others. I hope it does/did well this year and gets bought.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

2012 Academy Award Nominations

Once I'm more awake/have time I may elaborate on these, the upcoming 2012 Screen Actor Guild Awards, the 2012 Spirit Awards and the aftermath of the 2012 Golden Globes (I know, it's over a week late).

Best Picture:
The Artist
The Descendants
Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close
The Help
Midnight in Paris
The Tree of Life
War Horse

Best Actor
Demián Bichir in A Better Life
George Clooney in The Descendants
Jean Dujardin in The Artist
Gary Oldman in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Brad Pitt in Moneyball

Best Actress
Glenn Close in Albert Nobbs
Viola Davis in The Help
Rooney Mara in The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Meryl Streep in The Iron Lady
Michelle Williams in My Week With Marilyn

Best Supporting Actress:
Bérénice Bejo in The Artist
Jessica Chastain in The Help
Melissa McCarthy in Bridesmaids
Janet McTeer in Albert Nobbs
Octavia Spencer in The Help

Best Supporting Actor
Kenneth Branagh in My Week With Marilyn
Jonah Hill in Moneyball
Nick Nolte in Warrior
Christopher Plummer in Beginners
Max von Sydow in Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

Best Director
Michel Hazanavicius for The Artist
Alexander Payne for The Descendants
Martin Scorsese for Hugo
Woody Allen for Midnight in Paris
Terrence Malick for The Tree of Life

Best Animated Feature
A Cat in Paris
Chico & Rita
Kung Fu Panda 2
Puss in Boots

Best Documentary Feature
Hell and Back Again
If a Tree Falls: A Story of the Earth Liberation Front
Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory

Best Foreign Language Feature
Bullhead (Belgium)
Monsieur Lazhar (Canada)
A Separation (Iran)
Footnote (Israel)
In Darkness (Poland)

Original Screenplay
The Artist Written by Michel Hazanavicius
Bridesmaids Written by Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig
Margin Call Written by J.C. Chandor
Midnight in Paris Written by Woody Allen
A Separation Written by Asghar Farhadi

Adapted Screenplay
The Descendants written by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash
Hugo written by John Logan
The Ides of March written by George Clooney & Grant Heslov and Beau Willimon
Moneyball written by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin. Story by Stan Chervin
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy written by Bridget O'Connor & Peter Straughan

The Artist
The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo
The Tree of Life
War Horse

Film Editing
The Artist
The Descendants
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Sound Editing
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Transformers: Dark of the Moon
War Horse

Sound Mixing
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo
Transformers: Dark of the Moon
War Horse

Art Direction
The Artist
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
War Horse

Costume Design
The Artist
Jane Eyre

Albert Nobbs
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
The Iron Lady

Visual Effects
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2
Real Steel
Rise of the Planet of the Apes
Transformers: Dark of the Moon

Short (Animated)
The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore
La Luna
A Morning Stroll
Wild Life

Short (Live Action)
The Shore
Time Freak
Tuba Atlantic

Original Score
The Adventures of Tintin by John Williams
The Artist by Ludovic Bource
Hugo by Howard Shore
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy by Alberto Iglesias
War Horse by John Williams

Original Song
"Man or Muppet" from The Muppets Music and Lyric by Bret McKenzie
“Real in Rio” from Rio Music by Sergio Mendes and Carlinhos Brown
Lyric by Siedah Garrett

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Sundance Film Festival: 2 Early Titles

I just saw these in an email. I mean to go over a lot of the festival and the movies that are worth looking for, likely after or at least more so when I have time. But just for now, these 2 are worth mentioning.

Safety Not Guaranteed

Time Travel movie of sorts about 3 people, and an ad that was placed in a magazine in 1997. The premise sounds potentially interesting, although if it's like Primer I probably will losr interest fast.

"Hello I Must Be Going"

Todd Luiso directed, Melanie Lynskey stars; a movie about a woman recently divorced who finds a bond with a younger man in an unlikely place as her parents home.